... And here is an irate letter addressed personally to U.S. Senator Jackson, one of the most active proponents of aggressive propaganda and war hysteria. It was received from the village of Falenki in Kirov region. Listen.
     "Mr. Senator! I would like to express my opinion to you concerning the anti-Soviet campaign you are carrying on in the USA. But first let me introduce myself. I am Vittorio Vargas, a Spaniard adopted by the Soviet Motherland, which saved me from the fascists who seized and mutilated my country in 1938. I was adopted by a Russian mother named Marchenko, and I bear this name in her memory to this day. And then, when I was nine years old, I fell for the second time under the blow of fascism. The Hitlerites were waging war in the Soviet Union and my adopted mother and I were sent to the Auschwitz death camp. On the way from Krakow to Auschwitz, my adopted mother took from aunt Riva, who was Jewish (I do not remember her last name), her son Itsik, knowing that the fascists first of all would eliminate all Jews.
     Itsik and I landed in famous Block 46-C, where the fascist Mengele took blood from children for Hitler's soldiers. So, Mr. Senator, in the name of Itsik's mother, who was cremated in an oven of Auschwitz, in the name of my adopted mother, mutilated in the cellar of the Dora camp, in the name of our blood: mine Spanish, and Itsik's Jewish, I accuse you.
     I accuse you of the fact that you betrayed the memory of the joint fight of Soviet and American soldiers battling against fascism.
     I accuse you of the fact that you slandered the Soviet people to whom a high feeling of internationalism is organically natural, a feeling that dictated, in the most difficult moment, to the Russian woman Marchenko the decision to save the child of the Jewish mother, although this decision was imbued with deadly danger.
     Your misleading words, Mr. Senator, are shameful. And I am convinced that Americans will understand this and turn away from you.
     Vittorio Vargas, also known as Viktor Marchenko, village of Falenki, Kirov Region."
     Firmly stated, but, as the saying goes, "you can't throw away the words from the song!"
 

Yury Zhukov
"Thirty Conversations with Television Viewers" p. 340
Publishing House for Political Literature
Moscow 1977
 

     ... Much in his biography was still unclear. Until the fourth trial, Marchenko's birthplace was located in the village of Novo-Soloshino, in Orekhovo District of Zaporozhie Region. And finally at the last trial, the sunny country of Spain appeared in his statements:
     "I would like to be precise, that I was born in the province of Valencia, in Spain. At the age of seven months, in the summer of 1936, I was brought to the USSR on the Steamship Chicherin with a group of Spanish children and later was adopted by Grigory Konstantinovich Marchenko. Since that time I have lived with my family in Leningrad, where I grew up, studied, and worked. Earlier, at the investigation and in court, I said that I was born in Zaporozhie Region because I didn't want to raise any questions, and this fact had no significance for the case."
     The investigation took account of this statement and sent an inquiry to Zaporozhie Region, in order to verify that Marchenko actually was not born there and never lived there.
     A copy of the answer from the Executive Committee from the Orekhovo District Soviet of People's Deputies read as follows: "Grigory Konstantinovich Marchenko and Viktor Grigorievich Marchenko in fact were born in Orekhovo District."
     When Marchenko was presented with these proofs of his place of birth he admitted: "Yes, I was born in Zaporozhie Region, where I lived with my parents until 1944."
     Again and again I go through the sad pages of the two volume case file. And I do not believe, do not want to believe my eyes. I recall the Victory Day, the movie cameras and microphones, and the photograph of the emaciated seven-year-old prisoner...
     So was there no Auschwitz? Was there neither Spain nor orphanage nor blockaded Leningrad? This is the terrifying suspicion engendered by these pages.
     Meticulous research revealed for certain that neither Viktor Marchenko nor his mother ever were in Auschwitz.
      Just as the money he made was counterfeit so his whole biography was counterfeit with the province of Valencia and his dead Spanish communist parents, and the sufferings and deprivations that he purported in the concentration camp also were false.
 

Vladimir Bulychev
"Blasphemy,"
in Smena magazine, 1980, No. 17, p. 7.
 

BACK

...А вот гневное письмо, адресованное лично сенатору США Джексону, одному из наиболее активных защитников агрессивной пропаганды и военной истерии. Оно получено из поселка Фаленки Кировской области. Послушайте.
     "Господин сенатор! Я хочу высказать Вам свое мнение по поводу ведущейся Вами в США антисоветской кампании. Но прежде всего разрешите представиться. Я - Витторио Варгас, испанец, усыновленный советской Родиной, которая спасла меня от фашистов, захвативших и изувечивших мою Родину в 1938 году. Меня усыновила русская мать по фамилии Марченко, эту фамилию в память о ней я и ношу ныне. И вот, когда мне исполнилось 9 лет, я во второй раз попал под удар фашизма. Гитлеровцы ворвались в Советский Союз, и мою приемную мать вместе со мной отправили в лагерь смерти - Освенцим. В пути, когда нас везли из Кракова в Освенцим, моя приемная мама взяла у тети Ривы, еврейки по национальности (фамилии ее не помню), ее сына Ицика, зная, что всех евреев фашисты уничтожат в первую очередь.
     Я с Ициком попали в знаменитый блок 46-С, где фашист Менгеле брал у детей кровь для солдат Гитлера. Так вот, господин сенатор, именем матери Ицика, сожженной в печи Освенцима, именем моей приемной матери, искалеченной в подземелье лагеря Дора, именем нашей крови - моей, испанской, и Ицика, еврейской, я обвиняю Вас.
     Обвиняю в том, что Вы предали память о совместной борьбе советских и американских солдат, сражавшихся против фашизма.
     Обвиняю в том, что Вы оклеветали советский народ, которому органически присуще высокое чувство интернационализма, продиктовавшее в труднейшую минуту русской женщине Марченко решение спасти ребенка еврейской матери, хотя это решение было чревато смертельной опасностью.
     Ваше блудословие, господин сенатор, постыдно. И я уверен, что американцы поймут это и отвернутся от Вас.
     Витторио Варгас, он же - Виктор Марченко - поселок Фаленки Кировской области."
     Крепко сказано, но, как говорится, из песни слова не выкинешь!

Юрий Жуков
"Тридцать бесед с телезрителями" стр.340
Издательство политической литературы
Москва 1977 г.

     ...По-прежнему многое в его биографии оставалось непонятным. До четвертого процесса родиной Марченко называлось село Ново-Солошино, Ореховского района, Запорожской области. И вот на последнем суде в показаниях его всплыла все-таки  страна солнца - Испания:
     "Уточняю, я родился в провинции Валенсия, в Испании. В семимесячном возрасте летом 1936 года я был привезен в СССР на пароходе "Чичерин" с группой испанских детей и позже был усыновлен Григорием Константиновичем Марченко. С этого времени я жил с семьей в Ленинграде, где рос, учился и работал. Ранее, на следствии и суде, я назвал местом рождения Запорожскую область, так как не хотел возбуждать никаких вопросов, а по делу это значения не имело".
     Следствие приняло к сведению это заявление и, чтобы проверить, что Марченко действительно там не родился и не жил никогда, был послан запрос в Запорожскую область.
     Копия ответа исполкома Ореховского  райсовета народных депутатов гласила: "Марченко Григорий Константинович и Марченко Виктор Григорьевич действительно уроженцы Ореховского района".
     Когда Марченко были предъявлены эти доказательства о его месте рождения, он признал: "да, я родился в Запорожской области, где и жил с родителями до 1944 года".
     Снова и снова перелистываю страницы невеселые страницы двухтомного дела. И не верю, не хочу верить своим глазам. Вспоминаю 9 мая, кинокамеры и микрофоны, фотографию изможденного семилетнего узника...
     Так неужели же не было Освенцима?! Неужели не было ни Испании, ни детского дома, ни блокадного Ленинграда? Такое вот  страшное подозрение рождали эти страницы.
     Тщательная проверка установила доподлинно, что ни Виктор Марченко, ни его мать никогда в Освенциме не были.
     Как фальшивы были сделанные им деньги, как фальшива оказалась вся его биография с провинцией Валенсия и погибшими родителями - испанскими коммунистами, так и страдания и лишения, перенесенные якобы им в концлагере, оказались фальшивыми...

Владимир Булычев
"Кощунство" журнал "Смена" № 17 1980 г.
стр.7